5-Feet On A Good Day

Lifestyle of the Vertically Challenged

How deep is the pool?

on February 29, 2012

I know it’s not like me to post twice within a week, but today is LEAP DAY!!! This only happens once every 4 years and I think it’s cool that this blog post will be dated February 29th. So here is a new post. On Leap Day. February…29th…okay I’m done.

I have a new job!

Well I have several new jobs I guess.

But this post focuses on my latest job.

Which isn’t really a new job, because it’s something that I’ve done since I was 16.

I’m a lifeguard!

Again.

But it’s new in that it isn’t for the beach. It’s for a pool. And it isn’t just for any pool. It’s for a physical therapy place.

I guess I’m a physical therapy lifeguard?

Anywho.

So I found this job on Craigslist. The ad asked for someone who could work very specific hours Tuesday-Saturday. I applied even though my only availability was from Monday-Thursday. I didn’t expect to hear back but I figured I should apply since it’s in my neighborhood and the pay isn’t so bad.

A few days later, I received a phone call saying that they wanted me to come in to talk about the job. I was really caught off guard by the fact that they were actually interested despite my lack of time.

But after hearing a bit about the job over the phone, and agreeing to it, I began to go into a mini-panic mode.

I was told that at times, I would have to be in the pool with physical therapy patients to help them do their exercises.

Immediately, I thought…HOW DEEP IS THIS POOL?!?

Being a swimmer for much of my life, most pools that I’m used to begin at 4 feet deep and go up to anywhere from 6-12 ft deep in the “deep end.”

So I started panicking about how I wouldn’t be able to stand and hold up a patient in 6 feet of water because well, that’s a foot above my head.

I was really concerned that this guy would take one look at how short I am and turn me down when I had to meet him to talk about this job.

I turned to Google and began trying to do research on this physical therapy place and pool because I needed to know If I was going to be able to handle this kind of work in this pool.

I couldn’t find ANYTHING.

I was about to turn to Facebook to ask if any locals have ever used it and if they knew how deep it was.

I decided against that and then returned to the original Craigslist Ad and finally got my answer.

And breathed a sigh of relief.

This pool…is only 3-feet-deep.

It’s deepest point is 3 feet and 6 inches.

So once I found that out, my height was no longer going to be an issue.

And I realized that I was pretty much hired the second I sent in my resume and cover letter because they needed a replacement quick and seemed kind of desperate.

So I’ve been at this job for a few days and I’m happy to know that I’m not the only one that was concerned about the pool’s height.

A new patient came in the other day who was terrified to leave the 3-foot-deep corner because she was convinced that the pool was 6-feet-deep.

Being that she is only about 5 feet, like myself, she was afraid to go anywhere else because she was afraid her head would go under.

I kindly explained to my fellow shorty that the pool would only come up to her chest at most.

And she finally walked to the “deep end.”

And now she’s a champ.

Leave a Reply

